Bookish Resolutions 2015!

1. Read all of the books I received for my birthday/Christmas.

There are loads of books that I received in 2014 as gifts for Christmas or my birthday (both in December) and I would love to have all of them read by next December. I will be making a list of all of these books in a separate post that I will link here.

2. Diversify! Read at least one book per month by non-white, non-British or non-American authors.

I realised in 2014 that I do not make an effort to diversify when choosing which books to buy. This needs to change. Although I don’t want to be buying too many books this year, I want to make an effort to read the books on my shelves that are by diverse authors. I do have some Waterstones giftcards to spend at some point too! Here are just some of the books by diverse authors that I already own and would like to read in 2015:

  • All You Need is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka
  • The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide
  • Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
  • The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee
  • In Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahman
  • We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
  • Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

3. Read at least 6 non-fiction books over the year.

Non-fiction is something that I don’t usually pick up to read for pleasure, but in 2015 I want to read some non-fiction books that are based on things I am interested in learning about, not just things I read for university.

4. Read longer books!

I have many books on my shelves that are 500+ pages. In 2014 I wanted to have an average page count of 300 on Goodreads because I knew I would be reading some short fiction too but it has worked out at an average of just 265 for 2014. Mostly, this is due to having to read plays and shorter fiction for university, but also because I find myself avoiding longer books. A lot of the longer books I own are ones that I am really excited for, I just need to find the time and stop making excuses!

5. Buy less, read more. 

I haven’t fully decided yet but I’m looking at doing a ‘read 10, buy 1’ reading challenge this year. Obviously this won’t count books I am given for review but I really want to cut down my TBR pile dramatically by the end of 2015.

These are my bookish resolutions for 2015, what are yours?!

Leave a Reply

