The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen

I was so pleased when I received this novel from Mercedes (Mercy’s Bookish Musings on Youtube) for my birthday and I dived straight into it!

Not only is the cover absolutely gorgeous but I am trying to diversify my reading more with the new books I am getting and reading so this completely fits that goal with Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen being a Finnish author. I love the dark humour that is peppered throughout this book and it is definitely one of the perks of this being a translated work but this also has some disadvantages. At points I feel that the writing seemed a little disconnected and although I understand that mysterious novels can get away with this, it did make this a little slow at points.

I would say that some of the subject matter discussed in this novel is definitely more suited to mature readers as there is one scene of sexual violence described and although it is just a page or so, I understand that this could trigger some readers.

The writing and plot of this novel was so full of mystery and intrigue that I managed to read The Rabbit Back Literature Society in just a few days, even with working every day. I just needed to know what was going on and although there were some aspects that weren’t really my cup of tea, I did thoroughly enjoy this novel and would love to try something else by this author.

It may seem that I’m not saying much about the actual plot of the novel and to be honest, that is purposeful. This is definitely the type of story that you need to go into knowing very little about it and see where it takes you. Although there were some threads of the story left completely unanswered by the end of the novel, the final chapters felt like a great ending to a strange and unnerving novel and completely fitted the story. Overall I would recommend this to anyone who loves mysteries and books about books!

3 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

