Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein is one of those books that most people study in school but somehow it has evaded me until my second year of my English course at university! This review will be quite short because of the type of novel this is; most people know the plot already so I’ll just talk about the writing style and my enjoyment of it.

Honestly this is one of the easiest classics that I have ever attempted to read. The writing style has that Victorian quality to it that means it’s rich with detail but it never feels overly descriptive or a bore to read.

I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and the different perspectives that this is told from. With Frankenstein being such a universally loved novel, I already knew pretty much the entire plot but that did not make it any less enjoyable. The characters were crafted in such a way that I didn’t know whether I loved or hated them at times and the way Shelley incorporated the science-fiction elements made even the most incredulous scientific logic used in the novel into something utterly believable.

My only complaint would be that I wish I wasn’t reading it for university to a deadline because I think upon reading it again for fun I would have time to enjoy it a lot more rather than having to pick up something else straight away.

Overall I think is an extremely accessible classic novel that everyone should read and it’s definitely one of my favourite classics now, along with Nineteen Eighty-Four.

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

