The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Look at that cover! I mean it….this is probably one of the best covers I have seen in a long time. It perfectly ties into the story and the whole design of the book really creates a complementary atmosphere to the novel itself.

*Disclaimer – I actually received a copy of this book for free through work so I could review it for the store.

Going into this I didn’t really have much of an idea of what it was about and I think that this definitely adds to the experience of reading it.

With themes of marriage, betrayal, family, friendship and a touch of magic, this wonderful novel really does drag you into the world of 1680’s Amsterdam.

I was surprised throughout this novel at the twists and turns that took place and although it is a slow read, it is purposeful and intricate. I found that I read the majority of this in one sitting, unable to put it down for the wonder of what might happen next. I became truly attached to the characters and I only wish there were more stories of Nella’s life.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and I am so happy that I was given a copy to review. The plot and setting were expertly drawn to portray Amsterdam during this time period and the way that some of the themes were tackled were honest and skilfully written into the story. The only negative that I had about this novel was that the miniaturist’s story was left quite open at the end, though I suppose that adds to the mystery! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction with a dash of magical realism.

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

