November Wrap Up!

The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes

This was a fun and fast-paced contemporary read with a great well-developed protagonist. A lot of the characters I loved to hate whilst reading this but it made the book all the more enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this!

The Humans by Matt Haig

The Humans was a book club read so I read it in two sittings and again, thoroughly enjoyed it! The philosophical musings and brutally honest observations of what it is to be human really got me thinking and although it isn’t as science-fiction as I was expecting I still really enjoyed it.

Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

I’ll be honest, I really didn’t enjoy this novel. I can understand that this would really appeal to some people but I found it a struggle to get through. I didn’t hate it but I just felt distant throughout and found it difficult to connect to in any way. Maybe you’d enjoy it but this just wasn’t my cup of tea!

The Chestnut Tree by Jo Thomas

After reading Fiesta I really wanted a light quick read so I picked up this! This was a charming autumn tale that really evoked the cosy atmosphere I was looking for. A great little read too at just 81 pages.

Hamlet by William Shakespeare

This is easily my favourite Shakespeare play of the ones I have read so far. Despite it being one of the longer texts, I actually wish it was longer as I was so intrigued in everything that was going on and I think the ending could have been longer.

Humans: An A to Z by Matt Haig

This was a fun, witty read that would make a great gift. I think it was a good companion to The Humans but it is not essential to have read it to enjoy this.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Now having finished the Divergent trilogy, I can understand why so many people love it but honestly, maybe it’s because I got spoiled, but I found myself really disconnected from the characters and the plot. I’m looking forward to the rest of the movies though.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

This was one of those books that I’d heard very little about before picking it up but absolutely loved once I got into it! The magical realism was weaved expertly into the story and didn’t overwhelm the plot, and the characters are ones that I would love to read another novel about. Probably my favourite book of the month!

Leave a Reply

