Say Her Name by James Dawson

After loving Hollow Pike a few months ago, I really wanted to read Say Her Name, James Dawson’s most recent fiction release before Halloween and his event that I’m attending on 30th October. I will admit that this took me a few weeks to get through, despite it being under 300 pages, but I was just so freaked out by it that I had to take a break from it halfway through and I managed to read the last half in one sitting (it was dark and I was home alone, and I wouldn’t recommend you do that!).

Again, James Dawson’s writing style was flawless and although I usually avoid horror, in films and books, I felt like this read like a cheesy 90’s horror movie, in the best possible way!

The way the plot played out was tense and scary, especially with the chapters counting down the days until Mary’s arrival. This added to the drama and I like that although there was a bit of romance and friendship in this novel, the main focus was definitely the Bloody Mary storyline.

When I met James Dawson a few months ago he said that his aim with this novel was to make the scariest YA book he could and I have to say, I am certain that he succeeded.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this book and I can’t wait to read more of James’ work. I have Cruel Summer already  on my shelf and I can’t wait for his new releases coming out in 2015!

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

