The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

* I was sent this book for free by Headline and BookBridgr but as always this is a completely honest review.

Going into this book I had no idea what to expect. With a lot of YA, or even adult, contemporary novels I tend to steer clear of detailed plot synopses because a majority of the time, they give away a lot of what goes on.

I’m really glad that I went into this not knowing much because I ended up really enjoying it and I think this was helped by the fact that I wasn’t expecting anything specific to happen.

Jennifer’s writing style is addictive and simple in a way that makes you want to carry on reading, helped along by the relatively short chapters. I love simplistic writing in YA that can take you through a story but not be so simplistic that it seems juvenile. This author did a brilliant job of keeping me hooked.

I think if you really want a fun cheesy romance story, you should definitely try this one. I feel that if you liked Anna and the French Kiss you would definitely enjoy The Geography of You and Me. There is a similar theme when it comes to the travel and theme of fitting into a certain location.

The characters in this really made me fall in love with them and I was really rooting for them throughout. I loved the amount of backstory presented; there wasn’t so much that it bogged down the plot but there was enough to make me really care about the characters, especially Owen and his father.

Overall I would recommend this book. It is a little slow at points but I think it makes up for that by the end and I can’t wait to check out more of Jennifer E. Smith’s work.

One comment

Leave a Reply

