September Wrap Up!

Hollow Pike by James Dawson

After going to the Queen of Teen event at the end of August I desperately wanted to read something by James Dawson straight away so I picked up Hollow Pike. I thoroughly enjoyed it; it’s a fun YA horror read that’s not too scary and has a great balance of high school drama, mystery, creepy atmosphere, witchcraft, plot twists and romance – highly enjoyable!

The Missing Book: A Tale of the Oddworld by Mathew Bishop

This is a brilliantly funny short fantasy novel at just 216 pages, and the first in a long series of books by a debut author. I loved the characters and the humour aspects and am looking forward to more novels set in this world.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

This was a complete surprise to me as I’d heard really mixed things about it but I thoroughly enjoyed this and can’t wait to read the next in the series. I loved the mix of witchcraft, history and contemporary themes.

Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor

This was a surreal and mystical read full of action, emotion and science-fiction elements set in part of the world that I’ve never read about before. Thoroughly enjoyable!

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

This was a pretty disappointing read for me to be honest. The plot was decent and the writing was really enjoyable but the characters’ backgrounds were just too convenient in some cases which annoyed me a lot by the ending.

Leave a Reply

