Film Review: Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

This 2014 movie was based on the novel All You Need is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka.

After seeing the trailers when it came out I wasn’t initially interested but an opportunity to watch it came up and I thought I’d give it a go. Usually I don’t enjoy films based around the idea of the army or wars, though I do like action movies, so that was the main thing that deterred me from wanting to watch this film but after hearing that there was a strong science-fiction element I had high hopes.

I’ll admit, I can’t remember ever enjoying a Tom Cruise film so watching this I was pleasantly surprised! Emily Blunt also gave a great performance and the pair onscreen fitted each other and the film perfectly.

The effects were pretty good but I think it felt almost as though it wasn’t as new in some scenes. Some of the CGI seemed a little dated but overall I think the animated alien beings were brilliantly done and it really felt like a threat.

Overall I really enjoyed this film. I think the conclusion and certain aspects of the plot were left a little unexplained but that is to be expected in a 2 hour action film.

I would definitely recommend you give this one a go if you like action films with a bit of humour and science-fiction aspects. I’d say that even if you don’t usually enjoy war films, like me, give this one a go anyway!

Leave a Reply

