August Wrap Up!

Amadeus by Peter Shaffer

I thought I’d start the month off with something short, something that I could finish in one sitting. I hardly ever read plays and considering I was supposed to read this last year in university, I own the gorgeous Penguin Modern Classics edition and I need to read more plays, I thought this would be a good place to start. Overall I did enjoy this play but the characters were not likeable at all and I was unable to connect to them but I would recommend you give this a go.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

I really enjoyed this book and it reminded me a lot of Nineteen Eighty-Four which I read in July. I loved the world that this was set in and the slower pace actually gave me time to take in the story and the ideas a lot more so I would highly recommend this classic sci-fi dystopian.

Quidditch Through the Ages by J.K.Rowling

This was just a really short (64 pages) quick read that gives a lot more information about the wizarding world that we all know and love.

84 Charing Cross Road & The Duchess of Bloomsbury by Helene Hanff

I enjoyed this bind up though the first book was definitely better. I enjoyed the letters format and the time that it was set in, the characters seemed more endearing and I was more connected to the story, but I would recommend this bind up overall.

Sula by Toni Morrison

I picked this up during the 7 in 7 Readathon because it is only 174 pages and it is also on my university reading list for next year. I liked this book but didn’t love it; I didn’t like any of the characters and although the writing was beautiful, some of the themes seemed a little forced. I would recommend trying this book because I think it just wasn’t to my tastes but it wasn’t really my cup of tea, despite me finishing it in 2 days.

Manga Classics: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo & Stacy King

I really enjoyed this adaptation and the artwork portrayed the emotions of the characters well. I’d love to read the original novel at some point and I’ll definitely be picking up more manga in the future!

21st Century Dodos by Steve Stack

This is a great book to learn about some of the objects that are no longer around and it really has some nostalgia in it that I think everyone over 20 could probably connect with.

Harry’s Last Stand by Harry Leslie Smith

I cannot express how important this book is to read. Just read it. It’s got everything you want in a non-fiction without ever feeling dry and I learnt so much.

How They Met and Other Stories by David Levithan

This is one of the best short story collections I have read so far. Each story was distinct and unique so I read them straight after each other and this made for such a quick read!

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I actually started this book in June but only finished it mid-August, not because I didn’t enjoy it but because I wanted to savour it until I had a copy of the second in the series! I bought that at the David Levithan event so I wanted to finish up this wondrous book and I have to say, it is definitely one of my favourite books of all time now.

Life and Laughing: My Story by Michael McIntyre

This is a brilliantly funny autobiography that has enough emotion to tear you up but enough comedy to keep you gripped until the end.

The Rain by Virginia Bergin

This book was one of those examples where the idea of the premise was much better than the execution. The protagonist was one of the most annoying I’ve ever read about in YA, making stupid decisions and had NO survival skills and yet magically managed to survive to tell the tale. I don’t like being too negative about books though I always stay honest but in this case it just wasn’t for me, though I expect some people would love it.

Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky

This isn’t coming out until 4th November so I won’t be posting the full review until the end of October but I will say now that I loved this book. The themes it discusses are important but not often talked about in YA and middlegrade and I would highly recommend this.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

This is a book that has been sat on my bookshelf for around two years and I finally got around to it during the #CatchUpReadathon. Cloud Atlas was an amazing read and I am so glad I read it! Mitchell’s way of switching up his writing style was ingenious and I can’t wait to read more of his work.

Leave a Reply

