Doctor Who: Deep Breath Review/Discussion

Episode 1 of the new season of Doctor Who aired today and I just have to write a discussion/review about it. I’ll split it into sections like I did my Christmas episode discussion. This will be full of spoilers so don’t read if you haven’t seen the episode and obviously this is just my honest opinion, I don’t mean to offend anyone and I would love your opinions on the episode in the comments =)

The New Doctor

Obviously with any regeneration there is some trepidation when it comes to the Doctor’s new face and personality. Personally, when it was announced that Peter Capaldi was cast I was a little dismayed because he has played characters in both Doctor Who and Torchwood before and unless this plays into the storyline somehow (and I don’t know how it could with those characters being human, not Time Lord), it seems like an odd casting choice. However, I am willing to give him a shot and after this episode I am still reserving judgement. His acting was great so I won’t blame Capaldi for my misgivings about this episode. He still has a lot of potential.

Script/Plot

Apart from the odd funny moment, I found a lot of the script to be a little dull to be honest. Again with Stephen Moffat and his ‘list’ (this is something I spoke about in my Christmas episode discussion)! It just feels as though Moffat writes a list of things to include in an episode, thinks it’s a little too safe or something and then just adds a load of random irrelevant things in for good measure, to the detriment of the episode: Victorian London – Check!, Clara crying – Check!, references to old Doctors – Check!, Murders – Check!, old characters from previous episodes – Check!…….hmmm what else can I fit in to make this more exciting? Oh, I know! A dinosaur that gets killed 5 minutes in and a close up of a lesbian kiss! A lot of it just seemed pointless to be honest. Seriously, why was that dinosaur even included?!

Matt Smith

Honestly, the cameo of Matt Smith coming in during the call to Clara was the highlight for me. Not only is Matt Smith one of my favourite Doctors but I just felt that this scene was the only one with any real emotion in it for me. It was nice seeing Smith’s caring side and though having him back for this scene only makes up slightly for the appalling ‘goodbye’ scene before his regeneration, it was a great addition to an otherwise disappointing return to the show.

Overall, if it wasn’t for Matt Smith’s appearance I would have forgotten the whole episode straight away I think. It just seemed very flat and uneventful to me, which isn’t what I expect from a Doctor Who series start!

 

8 comments

  1. As a hardcore Whovian, there are many things I agree with in your review. I liked the episode, and I feel that Capaldi, as an actor, was brilliant.

    Yes, the script and plot had it’s flaws, but that’s Moffat for you- he writes Sherlock brilliantly but Doctor Who lacks slightly.

    Matt Smith’s appearance made me cry. I’m going to admit that now. Ten is my Doctor but Matt is up there in my favourites and I do miss him.

    For a first episode however, Deep Breath was a good start to the series. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series and I hope the everyone welcomes the Twelfth Doctor with open arms- unlike Clara.

    What did you think of the new title sequence and theme tune? 🙂

    • To be honest, I can see why some people may like this episode but I just hope it gets better.
      Personally I’m not a fan of Clara, she’s never seemed to have a lot of chemistry with the Doctor but that might just be me. I do have high hopes for Capaldi though.

      I quite like the new theme tune but I think the title sequence has gone a little too steampunk rather than sci-fi…

Leave a Reply

