The Rain by Virginia Bergin

21116887When I heard about the premise to this book, it was immediately something I was interested in. With the book market currently saturated in dystopian fiction, which I by no means have a problem with, it is sometimes nice to see a natural disaster style apocalypse, rather than a dystopian world.

“People weren’t prepared for the rain, got caught out in it, didn’t realize that you couldn’t drink water from the taps either. Even a drip of rain would infect your blood, and eat you from the inside out. Ruby knows she has to get to London to find her dad, but she just doesn’t know where to start . . . After rescuing all the neighbourhood dogs, Ruby sets off on a journey that will take her the length of the country – surviving in the only way she knows how.”

Straight away the writing style threw me off a little bit; Ruby is writing this looking back at her experience but there were so many instances where I just didn’t understand what she was thinking and why she was making such stupid decisions at points. She seemed to care more about her make-up and the colour of her hair than she did about checking whether it was raining killer-rain before stepping out of the door. Her priorities just seemed to be all wrong and as a protagonist she was infuriating to read about.

The plot itself, the killer rain, was definitely an interesting premise for a novel, but I was disappointed with the end of the book because nothing was resolved. Ruby ended up in the same situation as she was in nearer the beginning, I don’t feel like she grew as a character at all and there was no resolution or explanation for the killer rain. This book is the first in a series but I don’t think that is any excuse to not have at least a little explanation by the end. It hasn’t made me curious enough to pick up the next in the series because I know I would be really disappointed and frustrated if there, again, was no real conclusion.

I have to say, overall I did like reading this novel and it was enjoyable to a point. It was fast-paced but there were just so many irritating things about the protagonist and the plot itself for me to be able to recommend this book to anyone. Obviously this is just my opinion and there are people who love this book but personally, I just found too many things that annoyed me.

3 comments

    • I’m sure some people love it but I just had so many problems with the main character that it just doesn’t compare to many of the other books I’ve read with higher stars….you may like it though =) Just my opinions obviously =)

Leave a Reply

