The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I heard so much about this book before going into it that the hype kind of deterred me from reading it for a while but now I have read it, I have to say, I completely agree with the hype and why this is some people’s favourite book; it’s definitely now one of my favourite books of all time.

The Name of the Wind is the first book in The Kingkiller Chronicle series and it is an amazing first book in a series at that. Other than Lord of the Rings, this is the only high fantasy I have ever read and I have to say, it’s so different from what I expected.

Basically this is the story of the protagonist Kvothe’s life, well up to the first year of university in this particular novel. Rothfuss has a brilliant way of packing a lot of detail and ingenious world building into a story that is full of action but also not so fast-paced that you miss things. The pacing is a little slower than most genre-fiction I’ve read but the way it is done just pulls you in from the beginning and implores you to learn more about these characters and their lives.

This story has everything: family, life, death, mystery, love, friendship, school, magic, rivalry, danger, violence.

I just want to jump straight into the second book! I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get into fantasy because this isn’t too confusing with the magic system and the world. Just read it. It’s so good and definitely one that I will reread in the future.

3 comments

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It is such a good book! 😀 Definitely one of my favourites too! I only haven’t read the second book yet because of its size (it’s massive – kinda frightening haha) but still, can’t wait to read it. Surely will be as incredible as the first one 🙂

Leave a Reply

