Book I Want to Read by the End of 2014! (BEDA #11)

There are books on my TBR shelves that have been there for years, books that I was desperate to own but haven’t yet read, books that I’m not sure if I want to read but still have gathering dust, and books that I have been sent for review that I need to get around to.

So far this year I have read 120 books, including short stories, graphic novels, the odd children’s book, plays, fiction, non-fiction, manga, a mix of everything really. Realistically I will probably end up having read about 150 books by the end of the year, maybe more, but I want to focus my reading on books that I have overlooked for other things and longer books.

At this point, having read 120 books (29968 pages), my average page count is only 249.7 which isn’t that much to be honest. I haven’t read many long books (books over 400 pages) and I think I need to remedy that by the end of the year. The main reason for this low average is the amount of plays, short classics and graphic novels I have read so far this year as these tend to have less pages than novels. Most of this is due to my university reading list as most of it consists of plays and short novels of under 200 pages but I want to make this list to show some of the 400+ page books that I own and that I want to read at least 3 of by the end of the year.

So! 3 of these by the end of the year? Fingers crossed I can do it!

 

2 comments

  1. 120 books? ARE YOU A WIZARD? I thought I was doing well at 30! (I guess that doesn’t include books in categories like ‘dull work-related thing about referencing software’, but EVEN SO).

    I love the Eragon series, although Eragon is probably my least favourite of them (it’s really interesting to watch Paolini’s writing style mature as the series progresses–it’s clear, at least I thought so, that Eragon was written by a teenager who’d read a lot of Tolkein. By the second book, he has developed his own voice a lot more clearly). And The Book Thief and Jane Eyre are two of my most-loved books.

    • Great to hear! I think I read Eragon about 8 years ago but I need to reread it to understand what’s going on in the series. I’ve tried Jane Eyre and wasn’t enjoying it but I think I just have to be in the right mood for the right book =)

Leave a Reply

