The Spook’s Stories: Witches by Joseph Delaney

This book is part of the Wardstone Chronicles which I read the first of about ten years ago, but when I received this as a gift I thought I’d give it a go and see if I want to restart the series again.

Joseph Delaney has a writing style that completely draws you in to each story and although, like in most short story collections that I have read, some stories are better than others, each one is action-packed and is so engrained in the world of spooks that the author has created that you get sucked into each one.

This collection of five stories can be read separate from the main series and would still make complete sense, as it did for me.

Each story was written from a different character’s perspective and I feel like Joseph Delaney did a great job of giving each one a distinct and different voice.

Although this series is technically classed as middlegrade, I found that Delaney did not shy away from some of the more gruesome scenes. It certainly couldn’t be classed as gore but it was a little more realistic and intriguing.

After reading this short story collection I am really interested in checking out more of the books in the Wardstone Chronicles and I would definitely recommend this collection if you like middlegrade.

One comment

Leave a Reply

