Where There’s Smoke by Jodi Picoult

This is my first Jodi Picoult book and at only 41 pages it was a really quick read but I did have some problems with it.

The premise of the book was really interesting; a psychic chat-show host who helps solve the case of a missing child and who contacts the dead army husband of a young woman, but the way it was executed left a lot to be desired.

The actual psychic part of this was really well done but the poltergeist haunting Serenity, the protagonist, seemed a little pointless to be honest. The problem with this story is that there are a lot of interesting things introduced but because of how short it is, nothing seems to come to full fruition. Also the genre seemed a little confused. Obviously with the psychic aspect was explored a little more than the others, but this story is part detective story too. I felt that this was slotted in just to give the book more of a plot, and apart from giving a bit of a gory scene, it didn’t seem to serve much purpose unfortunately.

From this review it must seem like I hated this book. I didn’t. It was okay. Jodi Picoult’s writing was fast-paced and the idea of the story was definitely interesting, I just think that it would have been better as a full-length novel instead of a short story. I am happy that I read this and that I got it free on Kindle, and although I had problems with it, I would recommend it if you just want a quick read to fill up some time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

