The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

The Haunting of Hill House was one of the book club picks for the Jolly Good Reading Society on Goodreads a few months ago and I didn’t get around to it, so when I saw this in the library I thought I should get around to it!

Four seekers have arrived at the rambling old pile known as Hill House. As they begin to cope with chilling, even horrifying occurrences beyond their control or understanding, they cannot possibly know what lies ahead. For Hill House is gathering its powers – and soon it will choose one of them to make its own.

You cannot deny the brilliance of Shirley Jackson’s ability to create atmosphere; this modern classic was oozing creepiness and a dark foreboding that really sets the reader on edge, expecting paranormal things to happen, expecting the characters to react in certain ways.

The characters were all strange, all a little difficult to like, though Luke added a touch of humour that really balanced the creepy aspects well.

Although I enjoyed this, there is definitely something lacking for me that I think could be resolved with a reread at some point, mostly because of the ambiguity in some of the plot and also the characters. This is in no way a negative as I think this genre of novel can benefit greatly from ambiguity but I think it is one that I will love even more a second time around.

Overall this was a fun atmospheric read and although I can’t say what exactly happens, I liked that most of the ‘horror’ came from completely normal people and it was all psychological rather than a ghost story which could have been cheesy. I would recommend this book! It’s an accessible modern classic which keeps you gripped from beginning to end and I think a lot of people would enjoy it!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

