June Wrap Up!

The Martian by Andy Weir

This is one of my favourite books of this year. I felt so invested in the characters and the space setting was so realistically written and described, I felt like I was reading a non-fiction account.

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

This was a magical and captivating read loosely based on a Japanese folk tale. I absolutely loved this; I got completely hooked into the story and the writing style, and ended up reading this within 24 hours. I just needed to know what was going to happen and this is definitely what I needed.

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Everyone has been talking about Morgan Matson recently because of her new book and although I like the sound of that one, I couldn’t justify picking it up until I had read the one book of hers that I already own so I picked this one up. I ended up finishing it within 24 hours, loving the characters and the surprising depth of the story, and it is a brilliant roadtrip/summer read.

Invisibility by Andrea Cremer & David Levithan

Sadly, although I really  liked the concept of the plot in this book, it fell really short for me. I didn’t really like the characters and felt that the characters were not developed very well. I will still continue to read more of Levithan’s work but this one was disappointing to me.

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

I wanted to read this book after seeing the film about 3 years ago and to be honest, I did enjoy it but at times I felt that some of the language used was unnecessary. It’s a fun quick contemporary, but just be aware of the content.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I enjoyed this book but I think that it was really slow at points, feeling more like a bridge between the first and third rather than an important book in the series, however the ending really picked up the pace so I am looking forward to finishing this series.

Mack the Life: The Autobiography by Lee Mack

I really enjoyed this book, even though it took me 3 months to read for some unknown reason, and I found it fun to read something non-fiction for a change! I would definitely recommend this if you like Lee Mack, it’s a must-read for Lee Mack fans.

William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope by Ian Doescher

I enjoyed this book but there were some things that annoyed me about it. Some bits were a little slow and confusing and I didn’t particularly like the illustrations within the story.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I finished this right at the end of the month and absolutely loved every page of it! The pacing was really well done and the twist on the classics was brilliant!

Leave a Reply

