Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

 I saw several people on Youtube talking highly of this book so when the publisher contacted me offering a review copy in exchange for an honest review, I couldn’t wait to start it. I mean just watch the book trailer:

How could you not want to read that?! I read the original Wizard of Oz story last year and enjoyed it (though I have to say, I enjoy the Judy Garland film more) and I really like retellings so this was something I was really interested in reading.

The first thing I noticed about this book is the pace; it is an extremely quick read that I found captivated me from the start. Character-wise, Amy is a little dense at times, making silly decisions or going against what people around her say, but overall I think that I can forgive her a bit for this as, to be fair, she did unexpectedly find herself in Oz, she has an excuse!

One of the main things I loved about this book was the way that Danielle Paige did not shy away from the violent aspects of the story. The violent scenes were described in a realistic fashion – gruesome enough to shock and hold the reader’s attention, but not so much as to put you off reading.

I flew through this book in just a couple of days and found it difficult to put down. The pacing was perfect, never getting boring but also not moving on too quickly.

The way this book ended made me extremely excited for the sequel, I just need it now! There was just enough closure in this first instalment to satisfy but enough openness to make the reader anticipate the release of the second book in the trilogy.

Overall this was such a fun read that kept me hooked from beginning to end. The way the author tied everything together with regards to L.Frank Baum’s original text was genius, reminding the reader of original details throughout but twisting them to fit this YA sequel. I would definitely recommend this book, even if you have no experience with the original story as things are explained throughout Dorothy Must Die. There is so much attitude and sass within these pages that it is difficult to put down.

Leave a Reply

