William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope by Ian Doescher

I was really excited when I saw that Quirk Books were publishing this Shakespeare’s Star Wars series so requested an ARC. It has taken me a long while to get around to it however just because of the Shakespearean language used. It is my fault entirely but, as I study English Literature at university, I feel that reading Shakespearean style literature is like work and so sometimes it takes the pleasure out of the reading experience, but eventually I got around to it and I did like it in the end.

This book is essentially the story of the film Star Wars: A New Hope, but written in Shakespearean iambic pentameter. Some of Shakespeare’s plays are referenced in this book but on the whole you don’t need to be very familiar with Shakespeare to read this book.

Overall I did enjoy the experience of reading this book but there were a few things that annoyed me about it. Although I love the cover illustration, I found the illustrations within the book to not be very refined so they didn’t feel like anything particularly interesting to me. Also, there were parts of the storyline that just seemed confusing to me despite my being familiar with the movie version. On the whole I would recommend this if you are a Star Wars fan or interested in reading some Shakespeare style work, but personally I won’t be reading the sequels.

By the way, sorry I keep changing my blog theme but I’m just trying to find something that works for me! I’m sticking with this one now, at least for the foreseeable future =)

One comment

Leave a Reply

