Invisibility by Andrea Cremer & David Levithan

With every David Levithan book I read I seem to enjoy his work more and more so I was excited but nervous to pick this one up. I’ve owned it for a while but have heard mixed things about it so I was unsure if I was going to like it so I thought I’d just give it a chance and see what I thought.

The beginning of this book draws you straight into the premise and the concept of the story.

Stephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed.
Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there.
Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her—all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way—a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go—because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.

The writing style, or rather the perspective, was a little confusing because there was no indication to who was speaking and it took a few chapters to get used to it. I’m not sure if the two authors wrote alternating chapters but I found their styles pretty similar.

One thing that irked me about this book was the inst-love, especially with Elizabeth’s perspective. It felt unrealistic and made me disconnected from her character. This was also the case with the reveal of her brother’s backstory; it was revealed too early in the novel and too easily, really taking me out of the plot. I found Elizabeth’s character to be completely ridiculous; for example, within the same chapter, she finds out her boyfriend is invisible to everyone else, freaks out slightly but then is okay with it by the end of the chapter. That is not how a real person would react! (By the way, this isn’t a spoiler, it’s stated in the synopsis). I also found her character to be incredibly stupid at points, thinking she can take on the villain without listening to anyone’s advice.

The main thing I like about this book was Laurie’s character. Although he was a little unrealistic for a fifteen year old, I liked his humour and the quirks that he brought to the story.

Overall, this was a fast paced read that didn’t take me long to get through but I just found that I had too many problems with this book, too many to ignore. I loved the concept of the story but I think it needed developing a lot more so unfortunately I don’t think I would recommend this book, especially compared to other works by these authors. I’ve read several David Levithan books now and I would recommend any of them over this one.

One comment

Leave a Reply

