Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I bought this ages ago and now with everyone adding it to their ‘summer to-read’ lists, I just had to pick it up before the hype built too much – hype just puts me off a lot of the time!

I had started this a while back but I wasn’t in the mood for it then but this time I got into it straight away and got really interested in the characters and the format of the book.

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

I really like that this book has images in it, of the places the two protagonists go, receipts and other little memorabilia from the trip, giving the book a scrapbook feel to it. I really wanted to go to America whilst reading this novel!

Apart from being a contemporary road trip novel, this book did a really great job of discussing difficult topics such as the death of a parent in a believable and realistic way. Although the two characters were somewhat parent-free throughout the book, the reader is constantly reminded that they have parents so it grounds the story in reality a lot more than many other YA books of its kind do and I appreciated that.

I loved that the romance wasn’t the most important thing and that when it finally does happen, it is done realistically and it isn’t insta-love in any way.

Overall I really enjoyed this novel and look forward to reading more my Morgan Matson. I can’t believe it took me so long to pick this one from my shelf – I mean look at that cover! But seriously, this is a fun but serious-at-times contemporary road trip novel that made me want to visit America and eat a lot of fast food, and I think that a lot of people would really enjoy it, especially as a summer read.

One comment

Leave a Reply

