The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

I went into this book knowing nothing about the plot at all. I have read some of Patrick Ness’ other works (The Chaos Walking trilogy and A Monster Calls) and thoroughly enjoyed them so wanted to try out some of his adult fiction.

Immediately, this book was very different to his others as there are some mentions of adult content such as sex, abuse and swearing, but not in an overpowering way. They are mostly just little bits of extra information given about the characters’ pasts and I think this made them more well-developed as characters as they were all flawed in some way.

The writing in this novel is absolutely beautiful. Even when nothing much was happening, I just wanted to carry on reading because of the richness of the writing. It really puts you into the story and makes you feel completely immersed in the narrative.

There was just something captivating about this novel. Something that I couldn’t quite put my finger on the whole way through. There is something so human and yet so unbelievably magical and surreal that I don’t quite know what to think of it.

Although I read this within 24 hours and I did thoroughly enjoy it, I am a little bit confused about this novel having finished it hence why it doesn’t get the full 5 stars from me, but I truly loved this book. I flew through it and the Notes & Acknowledgements at the end have made me, not only want to seek out the original folk tale of the crane wife, which this book  is loosely based on, but also I need to listen to the Decemberists!

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this book if you enjoy books based on fairy tales or folklore, and also for those of you that like to read magical realism. This book will confuse you and make you think, and yet enjoy it also. This book was an experience for me and I would highly recommend it. Yet again, Patrick Ness does not disappoint.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

