The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

I won this book from a HarperCollins Twitter giveaway, along with the sequel, and picked it up straight away because I was really excited about it and needed a light read after reading Before the Fall.

I have to quickly say that I absolutely love the cover and didn’t realise until I got the physical copy that there are actually illustrations within the book as well. I will do an Illustration Spotlight post separately from this review about Iacopo Bruno, the illustrator that worked on this series.

This is a book about two girls who get sent to fairy tale schools, The School for Good and Evil, but get switched so they are in the wrong schools. I won’t say anything more than that because you need to read it for yourself but when I read up about this book, that is what drew me into it.

I haven’t read many fairy tale retellings but during one of my illustration projects I ended up reading a lot of original fairy tales so I really enjoyed all of the references throughout this book, along with the side characters and some of the tropes often seen in fairy tales sneaking into this book in sometimes hilarious ways.

I would say that this novel is definitely quite light-hearted and funny for the most part but there are some darker moments that really had me on the edge of my seat so it was exciting to read. Although it got a little slow at points and the characters, especially Sophie, could be slightly irritating, I still felt invested in the story and the world that Chainani created so I would recommend this book.

Overall this was an exciting book with a nice balance of dark moments with light-hearted fun too. The ending was just enough closure for me but I will definitely be reading the second book in the series soon and I would definitely recommend this one.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

