Film Review: Starter For 10 (2006)

I watched this on Netflix. I didn’t know anything going into apart from that it was about University Challenge in some way. I didn’t even realise that the film is based on a book by David Nicholls, the same author as the book I am currently reading, One Day!

This is truly an all-star British comedy based in a university starring James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch, James Corden, Dominic Cooper, Mark Gatiss and Catherine Tate, just to name a few.

I really enjoyed this despite the fact that it was slightly predictable and the University Challenge aspect of it didn’t factor in as much as I thought it would. I really liked some of the characters and thought that the acting was really well done. I found this film to be pretty funny at points but not the most laugh-out-loud film I’ve seen. I did enjoy the character played by Benedict Cumberbatch the most I think amongst others. I didn’t really like the romance elements of this film, just because I found it a little predictable but I can look past that slightly.

Obviously I haven’t read the book so I’m unsure whether this is a faithful adaptation but this is a film that I would recommend if you’re into coming of age stories and British comedies.

Leave a Reply

