April Wrap Up!

The Way by Mary E. Twomey

This book took me so long to read, not because it was bad but because it was in ebook form, so I apologise for that, but I absolutely loved this book and would love to read the sequel at some point in the future. The writing and the world building was amongst my favourite dystopian ever and I would highly recommend this.

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

I listened to this completely on a whim when I saw the ‘audiobook’ version that Neil Gaiman performed suggested on Youtube. I really loved his reading of the book in this format and although it was very short, it counts on Goodreads and I enjoyed it so it counts!

Lips Touch by Laini Taylor

I really enjoyed this short story collection. It was full of magic, fantasy and a richness despite the stories being so short. A few points were a little slow but I still really enjoyed this and look forward to checking out more of Laini Taylor’s work.

How To Have An Almost Perfect Marriage by Mrs Stephen Fry

Although I did enjoy this I wouldn’t call it a great work of literature. I found it enjoyable and quite humourous but I do prefer Mrs Stephen Fry’s other book.

The Hugo Movie Companion by Brian Selznick

This is basically the story of  the making of the film Hugo, based on the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret that I read last month. I read the book and then enjoyed the film so thought I’d give this a go and I found it really interesting and inspiring so definitely worth the read if you like the book or film. Plus it’s full of illustrations and photographs from the set so a quick one too!

Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

I really enjoyed this book and although I was experiencing a bit of a reading slump and it took me over a week to read, I found myself flying through it when I did pick it up so I would definitely recommend it for fans of dystopian or Pokemon.

Chocky by John Wyndham

This was a brilliant audiobook of a mysterious story that I wasn’t expecting to enjoy as much as I did! This was narrated really well, with different voices for each character, and the story was engaging and thought-provoking. Although I didn’t really enjoy the end, I think that the climax was done well and I am definitely interested in trying out something else by John Wyndham in the future.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

This was a reread for me this time for the #ClareAThon 2014 and I enjoyed it even more the second time so still a 5 star read for me. I love the setting and the world that Cassandra Clare has built. The characters are mysterious and each have their own unique personalities and I thoroughly enjoyed this read!

Lindbergh: A Tale of a Flying Mouse by Tobern Kuhlmann

This was a very well-crafted children’s novel that is coming out 1st May about a mouse who builds an aircraft to fly to America and escape Germany. It is a short read but I absolutely loved it, especially the illustrations.

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

This was a brilliant sequel to Clockwork Angel and I really enjoyed the development of both the plot and the characters. It was heartbreaking and surprising with many twists and turns throughout and I can’t wait to read the third and final book in the series!

The Geek’s Guide to Dating by Eric Smith

I really enjoyed this non-fiction advice book and loved all of the geeky references. The design of the book itself is really well done and completely encapsulates the themes discussed within the pages.

Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

This was a brilliantly mysterious and atmospheric, sometimes hilarious, read about a secret society, Google, typography and books! What more could you want?!

Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

I read this entire book during the Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon and absolutely loved it! It is a fun quick read and comes out tomorrow so definitely one that I would recommend checking out!

Tempest by Julie Cross

This honestly took me over two months to read and although I enjoyed some aspects of it, I didn’t really like the relationship and I think that it took too much of a central role in the story considering the fact that there are time travel aspects to this and these weren’t as fleshed out as I felt they should have been.

Saga (#1) by Brian K. Vaughan

Saga #1 by Brian K. Vaughan

I found this first volume free on Amazon.co.uk (don’t know if it will still be free as you’re reading this)and have heard so many great things about it that I just had to check it out! This was a brilliant start to the series and even though it was less than 50 pages long, it really drew me into the world and the story. The characters already seem well developed and the narrative style is unlike anything I’ve previously read. The illustration style is amazing; it’s just so detailed and expressive. I will definitely look into picking up the rest of this series at some point in the future as I can’t wait to know what happens to these characters.

NeoZoic by Troy Peteri, Paul Ens, Jae Korim & Jessie Larn

This was extremely short and although the idea of the story was interesting, humans coexisting with dinosaurs, it was so short that this first volume didn’t give enough of an introduction to this graphic novel series.

Riot by Sarah Mussi

This was a review copy that I sneaked in right at the end of the month (literally finished it at 11:30pm!) and I really enjoyed it though it wasn’t without it’s flaws. I would recommend reading the full review if you want to know more of my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

