Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

I first heard about this from BenjaminOfTomes on Youtube and, to be honest, I didn’t really have any intention of picking this up but when I was browsing a book shop in York when I went to the Hannah Kent event I decided to pick it up to see if I liked the writing style and I ended up picking it up!

Tella’s brother is dying. He’s got cancer and Tella is helpless to save him. Or so she thought. When an invitation arrives for Tella to compete in the Brimstone Bleed, a deadly competition that will lead her through treacherous jungle and scorching desert, she doesn’t think twice. Because the prize is a cure to any illness. But Tella will be facing more than just the elements…

This book has been described as a cross between The Hunger Games and Pokemon. Both are things that I really love so I thought that I’d give this a go. It is the first in a series and straight away I found that the writing style is fast-paced and drew me in straight away.

I have to say that the one thing that is different about this book compared to other books that I have read with this kind of dystopian feel is the way that Victoria Scott drops you straight into the centre of the story. There are very few pages of establishing the story and characters before the contest but I think that there is a lot of information crammed into these pages. I would say that this could be classed as dystopian but it has a basis in much more our times than a lot of books in this genre do.

I think it may have been because of my own reading mood but this took me well over a week to finish this book. I found some of the main characters annoying at points, especially Tella, the female protagonist. She reminded me a lot of Tally from the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld in that she is quite modern and privileged in her normal life so when the Brimstone Bleed is introduced she seems a little whiny.  Although some of the characters were slightly annoying, I was completely enthralled in the plot and the events that were taking place.

Towards the end of the book there are so many twists and turns that I just wasn’t expecting at all and it really made this a fast-paced read and I would definitely be interested in reading the sequel when it is released. I liked that the dystopian elements didn’t really come  into it until near the end and overall I did enjoy this book, I just don’t think that I was in the right reading mood at the time I read it and that is the only reason it took me so long to read.

One comment

Leave a Reply

