The Way by Mary E. Twomey

The Way is a spectacular dystopian novel from author Mary E. Twomey. I was sent this in ebook form from the author to review and, although it took me a while to read because I don’t often opt for reading ebooks, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.

Twomey has created a unique world wherein people are split by blood type, with A-bloods being almost a slave race to the Vemreaux, those who have experienced the fountain of youth. There is a Predator killing off Vemreaux and only the Light can fulfill the prophecy, ending the tyranny. This is a very vague synopsis and I found that there was so much depth to the story that this doesn’t really do the book justice. The world is so well developed and thought out that I loved learning about how everything worked and the characters are so unique that it really kept me hooked.

I liked that although some of the characters were a little unlikable, they still had motives for being the way they were so were still realistic. Even the romance between certain characters didn’t seem too out of place and although at points it seemed to become the focus for a few pages, I never felt that it was dragging at all.

One thing I would say is that this is definitely gor older YA readers and adults, not younger Young Adult readers, just because there are some pretty graphic and gruesome parts. This was completely unexpected to me at first and although I don’t usually like seeing detailed violence in novels, I think that it fit this dystopian world and its characters well.

Overall this was a definite 5 star read for me and I can’t wait to see what happens in the next installment in the series.

One comment

Leave a Reply

