Film Review: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)

I watched this film recently after listening to the original short story by James Thurber on audiobook narrated by Ben Stiller who starred in, directed and produced the film, and I have to say was completely surprised by this.

The cinematography was very artsy and gave the film a very unique look with warm tones and a very high level of detail. The attention to detail was obvious and I even liked the way they presented the opening credits, integrating them into the scenes.

The acting was also really good. I don’t like many Ben Stiller films but I think when he gets it right like this, it’s something very special. I loved him in the main role and also all of the side characters were well cast.

This has made its way into my favourite films of all time straight away. I love the artistic feel to it, the inspirational journey that this character goes on, the pinch of humour added in for good measure and one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard in a long time. This is definitely a film that I will be watching again very soon.

One comment

Leave a Reply

