The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

This is one of the books on this month’s (well 25th March-25th May) choices for the Jolly Good Reading Society on Goodreads, which is a book club that I am a part of and that I would encourage you to join.

Love isn’t an exact science – but no one told Don Tillman. A handsome thirty-nine-year-old geneticist, Don’s never had a second date. So he devises The Wife Project, a scientific test to find the perfect partner. Enter Rosie – ‘the world’s most incompatible woman’ – throwing Don’s safe, ordered life into chaos. Just what is this unsettling, alien emotion he’s feeling?

The synopsis drew me in straight away and after reading the first few pages whilst in the supermarket I just had to buy it and read it. I have never read many adult contemporary books and this seemed like something right up my street and I am so glad I picked it up.

For anyone who is a Big Bang Theory fan, this book is basically Sheldon Cooper (plus some alcohol and genetics rather than physics) making friends with Penny. The characters are absolutely brilliant and relateable, even Don who is obviously a little unusual in his mannerisms, to say the least.

I ended up absolutely loving this book. The narrative style is unique and just flows so well. It is an intelligently written book; the author obviously did his research, and I think that this is evident in the way that the novel is executed. I have never read a book in this genre that captivated me so much and that didn’t rely heavily on the romance, more the characterization and the human interactions.

I loved the ending and was surprised that this was much more than a romance. I really enjoyed the mystery elements of it as I was kept guessing throughout the Father Project that Don and Rosie undertake.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book and it might even be one that I reread at some point in the future.

4 comments

  1. WOW, Charlotte, wow! How do you read so fast??? O.K., O.K., I’m calm.=D
    Glad you loved this book, I’ll join read-along in April. (It’s me, Anna Shuk from Youtube.=))

    • Oh hi! So glad you’re joining in, it’s a brilliant book…I hope you like it =)
      (by the way, I started it a little early so I read it over 4 days I think xD)

Leave a Reply

