Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith

I picked this book up on a whim from the library. I recognised it because it was recommended in a video by Leena at justkissmyfrog on Youtube and although I didn’t know anything about it I thought I’d give it a go.

This book is only 164 pages and makes for a very fast-paced read. It is different from everything I’ve ever read in that there are no quotation marks around any of the dialogue. This is confusing at first but I soon got used to it and really enjoyed the book.

This novel is based on the myth of Iphis which I have never read before but this has made me really interested to look into more Greek myths and legends. It deals with themes of feminism, homosexuality, environmental issues, morals, eating disorders and many more things, but all in a way that isn’t too heavy to read about.

The characters in this book evolve and develop so much in so few pages that I was extremely impressed by Ali Smith’s writing talent. The writing was poetic and I think could portray a different message to a variety of different people, different people would take away something different from reading this novel.

I am interested to pick up more of the books in this Canongate Myths series as this one was fast-paced and enjoyable with realistic characters. I read it in one sitting and think that it definitely stands up to rereading.

One comment

Leave a Reply

