February Wrap Up!

Here are all the books I read in February! Most were for university but I managed to read a few for fun too =)

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

I read this for the first time this month for one of my university modules and actually really enjoyed it! I understood the Shakespearean language a lot more than I thought I would and the overall storyline was quite enjoyable, though I didn’t like any of the characters.

The Time Machine by H.G.Wells

I had read this previously but had to reread it for university and I found that I enjoyed it so much more the second time around! I read it in one sitting and found it to be a really quick and easy read. I would definitely recommend this one.

 

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery This was a cute whimsical children’s book that I read mostly because it is on both the BBC Top 200 and also the Guardian MustRead Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reads list. I enjoyed it but I don’t think it’s one that I’ll be rereading any time soon.

 

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline I really enjoyed this book! It was so fast-paced and exciting with an interesting well put together plot and developed characters. I would definitely recommend this!

The Little Android by Marissa Meyer I read this on Wattpad where it is available for free. I came to this having never read the Lunar Chronicles and I think that although this would obviously be a great story for someone who has read the series to read, this was a great experience and it has definitely made me want to pick up Cinder. Marissa Meyer’s writing style is really easy to get into and the world that she creates is so easily imaginable that it was difficult to get out of despite this being such a short quick read. I would definitely recommend this short novella to anyone who likes YA or science-fiction, whether you have read the Lunar Chronicles or not!

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty by James Thurber I got this audiobook for free on Audible.co.uk (I downloaded on 19th Feb. so I don’t know if it’s still available for free but it’s worth checking). I had previously seen the trailer for the film adaptation and was not really interested in watching it but now I have listened to the audiobook I think it would be interesting to watch the film as I am curious how a 15 minute (approx. 32 pages in physical format) could be adapted into a feature-length film. This short story was narrated by Ben Stiller (who plays Walter Mitty in the film) and the way he did the different voices for different characters really helped the audiobook make more sense and made it a lot more engaging. The Ben Stiller discussing the format of the audiobook at the end was really interesting and really added something to the experience. I would definitely recommend this one as it is really short and definitely worth listening to/reading, especially if you want to or have watched the film.

The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen JohnsonThis was a great YA novel about female friendships, relationships and homosexuality that had a depth that was surprising compared to what I expected. I would suggest going into this knowing hardly anything about it as I think it will surprise and delight you!

The Turn of the Screw and Other Stories by Henry James This was one I picked up for university just to read the title story but I ended up finishing the 4 story collection within the month. I enjoyed two of them but overall I found James’ writing style to be overly and unnecessarily complex, though I did enjoy some of the storylines and characters.

The Great Gatsy by F.Scott FitzgeraldI read this story in a bind-up of Fitzgerald’s novels and it was only 107 pages but I have been meaning to get around to it for so long now and I’m so glad I’ve finally read it! I would definitely recommend checking out my full review for more of my thoughts but I would recommend this to anyone wanting to read some easier classics.

The Crucible by Arthur MillerI read this play as part of my university course and really enjoyed it! It is really short so I read it in one sitting and I would have to say that this is probably one of my favourite plays now (even though I gave it 4 stars not 5). I feel like this would improve on rereading and the idea of the plot just fascinates me.

The Painted Veil by W. Somerset MaughamThis was a complete surprise to me! I absolutely loved it! I picked it up straight after The Great Gatsby and as it is set in the 20s I thought it would be similar but I actually enjoyed it more. The Chinese setting was unexpected and I would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

