Film Review: The Great Gatsby (2013)

The Great Gatsby was released May 2013 and stars Leonardo di Caprio, Tobey Maguire and Carey Mulligan.

As soon as I finished the book, by F. Scott Fitzgerald, I watched this movie and I have to say that considering the mixed opinions that I’d heard about, I was pleasantly surprised! Yes, the soundtrack is a little odd, mixing 20s instrumental with modern pop music, but I think it worked quite well and really make me connect more with the film because it was familiar.

The acting in this was amazing. Leonardo di Caprio made the perfect Gatsby for me and Carey Mulligan as Daisy really worked too. I’ve only seen her as Sally Sparrow in Doctor Who so it was great to see her in a more prominent role in this film.

The effects and shots were quite experimental at points but I think that it made for more interesting viewing, especially when not much was happening plot-wise. The story itself was exactly how I pictured it in the book, with very few major changes; I even recognised a lot of the dialogue directly from the novel.

Overall, I really enjoyed this film and will be watching it again at some point in the future. I think it was a wonderful adaptation from the book and the acting was so good that I was engaged throughout the entire thing.

Leave a Reply

