The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I have been aware of this book for a while now but had no idea what it was about before reading it. I heard a little more about it from Lesley (WordsOfAReader on Youtube) and decided that, when I saw it in my university library, I would pick it up and give it a go.

I was surprised by how short this book is – my copy is only 88 pages and it is a really quick read as there are a lot of illustrations throughout.

The writing style is extremely simple and child-like, even though it is from an adult’s perspective, and I think this adds to the quick pace and the fantastical elements of the story. I found the narrative voice a little confusing as he talked of the “grown-ups” as something quite other from himself and yet it should be assumed that he himself is an adult as he flies planes.

The world-building in this short novel was wonderful. The world that the Little Prince describes is whimsical and has some fairytale like qualities to it. I liked how by describing an alien planet, very real Earth problems were discussed such as the ” good” and “bad” plants taking over. This brought it back down to earth slightly and made some aspects a little more relatable than they would be otherwise.

This story has a lot of repetition, as children’s books sometimes do, but I did’nt find it over the top. I think that the morals and messages discussed were relevant even to an adult. My edition was translated from the original French by Katherine Woods and, although I haven’t read the original writings in French (as I don’t speak French at all!) I can say that this was a very well-written translation.

I would definitely recommend that you read this book to form your own opinion on it as I can see how it would be very polarizing; some people love it and some people hate it! I personally think that it is a cute adventurous story with some important morals and messages and although I enjoyed it, it isn’t something I would go out of my way to reread but I did really like it.

One comment

  1. […] The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery This was a cute whimsical children’s book that I read mostly because it is on both the BBC Top 200 and also the Guardian Must-Read Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reads list. I enjoyed it but I don’t think it’s one that I’ll be rereading any time soon. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline I really enjoyed this book! It was so fast-paced and exciting with an interesting well put together plot and developed characters. I would definitely recommend this! The Little Android by Marissa Meyer I read this on Wattpad where it is available for free. I came to this having never read the Lunar Chronicles and I think that although this would obviously be a great story for someone who has read the series to read, this was a great experience and it has definitely made me want to pick up Cinder. Marissa Meyer’s writing style is really easy to get into and the world that she creates is so easily imaginable that it was difficult to get out of despite this being such a short quick read. I would definitely recommend this short novella to anyone who likes YA or science-fiction, whether you have read the Lunar Chronicles or not! The Secret Life of Walter Mitty by James Thurber I got this audiobook for free on Audible.co.uk (I downloaded on 19th Feb. so I don’t know if it’s still available for free but it’s worth checking). I had previously seen the trailer for the film adaptation and was not really interested in watching it but now I have listened to the audiobook I think it would be interesting to watch the film as I am curious how a 15 minute (approx. 32 pages in physical format) could be adapted into a feature-length film. This short story was narrated by Ben Stiller (who plays Walter Mitty in the film) and the way he did the different voices for different characters really helped the audiobook make more sense and made it a lot more engaging. The Ben Stiller discussing the format of the audiobook at the end was really interesting and really added something to the experience. I would definitely recommend this one as it is really short and definitely worth listening to/reading, especially if you want to or have watched the film. The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen JohnsonThis was a great YA novel about female friendships, relationships and homosexuality that had a depth that was surprising compared to what I expected. I would suggest going into this knowing hardly anything about it as I think it will surprise and delight you! The Turn of the Screw and Other Stories by Henry James This was one I picked up for university just to read the title story but I ended up finishing the 4 story collection within the month. I enjoyed two of them but overall I found James’ writing style to be overly and unnecessarily complex, though I did enjoy some of the storylines and characters. […]

Leave a Reply

