Film Review: Pride and Prejudice (2005)

After the surprise of thoroughly enjoying Jane Austen’s classic novel Pride and Prejudice I just had to check out one of the film adaptations. I chose the 2005 version for its reputation as a very true adaptation and I was not disappointed in the slightest! I loved how the film followed Elizabeth with very few scenes without her presence, as is so in the book, and the sets were all extremely close to how I imagined them whilst reading.

The musical score really made this film for me, together with the cinematography, as it was emotive and really drew me into the film. The cinematography itself was beautifully done; quite artistic stylistically. I think that it really suited the style of the novel and set off the story in a way that I have never seen before from a book-to-movie adaptation.

The casting was excellent, with Keira Knightly as Elizabeth Bennett. I thought all of the actors were brilliant, though I didn’t really agree with the choice for Wickham, but they very much suited their characters. Throughout the film I was a little offput by Mr Bennett being played by Donald Sutherland (yes, that’s right – President Snow), but other than that I loved every minute of this film and can’t recommend it enough.

Leave a Reply

