The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

This book has been everywhere on the internet over the past few months and I originally didn’t really have any interest in reading it. I’d heard mixed things about it and with it being so hyped, I just wanted to avoid being disappointed in it. However, this is one of the choices for the January-March Jolly Good Reading Society book club and after borrowing a copy from my mother (which she is letting me keep!) I decided to give it a go.

One thing I didn’t realise about this book, which confused me at first, is that it is told from several different points of view. It was difficult to distinguish the characters from each other at first but I think that after getting used to it, it flowed really well and was overall a very fast-paced read.

This book is split into distinct sections each with a number of chapters and each from a different perspective, as I said before. I found that these sections were just the right length to keep me interested in what was going on but didn’t go on for too long, always ending in a cliffhanger that built up the suspense. Although it was quite suspenseful, there are certain plot twists and ideas that I predicted straight away and, although this took away slightly from the book, I was hooked from start to finish.

This is a fast-paced and exciting read, though some aspects, such as the romance and the predictability of it, really did annoy me. Overall I would highly recommend this novel and look forward to the next in the series but I think I will be wary of hyped books in the future as my hopes were maybe a little high going into this one. I did really enjoy this book though and will definitely check out more of Rick Yancey’s work in the future.

One comment

Leave a Reply

