Backward Compatible: A Geek Love Story by Sarah Daltry and Pete Clark

I decided to check out what was available to request on NetGalley as I haven’t been on there in ages and I’ve recently been wanting to get into reading more full length novels on my tablet instead of just short stories and novellas. The cover of this one drew me in straight away and although the Kindle version has just 230 pages, I couldn’t help but request it and start reading straight away.

This story is told from two different people’s perspectives, Kate and George. I really loved that you got to see both character’s lives separately, even though they are obviously linked, and their personalities felt very true to life. The way George and his best friend Lanyon talk to each other seems very true of teenage boys and I found it refreshing to read about geeky characters rather than the usual hipster girl falling for the jock.

The involvement of video games in this book is immense, with names and films being referenced throughout. I have to admit that I didn’t understand some of the references but whenever I came across one that I did recognise, it made me feel a little more connected to the characters and the story. Also although the characters do swear and discuss inappropriate things, it is still a Young Adult novel and is suitable for older YA readers.

The game in this story was really interesting and I enjoyed the interactions that happened between the characters whilst they were playing. I must say that the game itself took centre stage for a lot of the novel but I really enjoyed it and found it was realistic. I loved the relationship between George and Katie and think that it was a realistic portrayal of a young couple, especially one of the geeky persuasion.

I woud definitely recommend this geeky new release to anyone, especially if you are interested in video games. I couldn’t put this down and I would thoroughly suggest that you pick this up.

Click to buy online!

One comment

Leave a Reply

