Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

I didn’t know anything about this before picking it up and hadn’t heard too much about it, but I was looking for some shorter reads for the Bout of Books readathon and at only 263 pages, I was interested to read more by Marcus Sedgwick.

This book is split into eight parts, all set in a different time and straight away, you are thrown into the story.

I loved the first section ‘Midsummer Sun’ which is set in June 2073. I really enjoyed the characters and the setting, the mystery surrounding it was intriguing and immersive.

The way that this book looks at different times is really well done as they all feel very distinct and believable. All of the stories are based on the same island and a few of the character names are the same so throughout you get the feeling that they are all connected. Each of the stories feel like a fable or fairytale and have the morals and messages of a story of that kind.

I loved the atmospheric, mysterious fantasy feel that this book has, and the fact that although it was made up of short stories, it felt like one linked collection. The stories definitely get creepier and more supernatural as they go along and I really enjoyed that about it. The last two or three stories had a similar tone to the Swordhand omnibus and Marcus Sedgwick’s writing was brilliant as always.

Overall, I just have to say that the more I read from Marcus Sedgwick, the more of it I want to read. I absolutely loved this book. Again, this was one I read in a day (that’s what readathons and time off work/uni does to me!) and (as I have said in the last couple of reviews) this is a great fast-paced read that could be read one story at a time or all together, like I did.

One comment

  1. […] Midwinterblood by Marcus SedgwickThanks to the Bout of Books readathon, I read this book in a day and yet again, I loved Marcus Sedgwick’s writing. I went into this blind and I think that is the best way to approach it as it keeps the mystery of the plot but I found the different time periods amazing to read about. […]

Leave a Reply

