The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K.Rowling

Since finishing the Harry Potter series in its entirety during 2013, I have wanted to pick up the supplementary shorter books released by J.K.Rowling that compliment the series. I just needed more Potter! Although I have been waiting to buy the boxset of all three books (The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them) since I am on a book-buying ban, I decided to get what I could from the library.

This is an enchanting collection of the tales, complete with notes from Albus Dumbledore on each one. The notes were probably the most interesting part, mostly because they gave more insight into the history of Muggles and wizards, their relationships and their laws.

This book is beautifully made. It is a slim hardcover (though I think the paperback is available) and there are illustrations throughout, even just around the tops of the pages.

The Tales of Beedle the  Bard is a short fast-paced read and I really wish there were more tales! It had the true feel of a collection of fairytales and I would thoroughly recommend it to any Harry Potter fans. It is a great addition to the original series and easily readable in one sitting (it took me less than an hour to read).

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

