December Wrap Up!

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

This was a fast-paced novel full of suspense and mystery, love and survival. It was written in a very unique way that took a while to get into but it was an interesting read that kept me hooked from beginning to end.

Symposium by Muriel Spark

This book took me a while to read but overall I really liked this and enjoyed the twists and turns that took place in the plot, the writing style flowing quite quickly when I was in the right mood for this more classic feeling style of book.

Varjak Paw by S.F.Said

This was a charming, gripping and action-packed children’s novel based on a cat, Varjak Paw, and his adventures Outside, coming to terms with his problems and growing as a character. It is a wonderful and fun story that I would recommend to people of all ages.

Anatomy of a Single Girl by Daria Snadowsky

This sequel is one of the best I’ve ever read. Not exaggerating in the slightest, I absolutely loved this book and read it in two days (only that long because I had to go to work) but I would highly recommend it for all the reasons talked about in my full review!

The Counsellor (film tie-in) by Cormac McCarthy

I don’t know what I expected going into this book but this wasn’t it. I found this to be gruesome and disturbing but I think my two stars just reflects my personal tastes.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha ChristieThis is the first of the large list of Semester 2 books that I have to read and I absolutely loved it! I read it as part of the #booktubeathon and read it pretty much in one sitting because it was just so intriguing.

The Swordhand Omnibus by Marcus Sedgwick (contains ‘My Swordhand is Singing‘ and ‘The Kiss of Death‘)

This swiftly became one of my new favourite series with its unique take on vampires and its hauntingly poetic writing style. Definitely one you should pick up as soon as possible, and if you have any doubts just read my full reviews!

Every Day by David LevithanI read this during the Christmas Booktubeathon and absolutely loved this after reading it within 24 hours. This is definitely my favourite Levithan book and I think that you should definitely read my full review for more information about this one as I would say this has quickly jumped into my top 10 for this year.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

This book was a great way to end the year and is the start of another series that I own (apart from Pretties which I will be buying soon!) ready for the series challenge next year! This was a brilliant dystopian that reminded me a lot of the Chaos Walking trilogy but obviously it was written beforehand so I won’t rate it lower because of that. This was still a great start to a dystopian series and I can’t wait to read the next one!

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

 This was a short story that I had to read in preparation for next semester and it is only 23 pages so didn’t take much time to get through at all. I really enjoyed it and will definitely be reading the rest of this collection at some point in the future. This was such a creepy and haunting short story with tonnes of symbolism and suspense, and I would definitely recommend it.

So that’s everything that I read for the last month of 2013! I’m really looking forward to the new year and reading some more great books =)

Leave a Reply

