Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

This series has been one that I have wanted to start for a while now, with Jessica from Priceiswong really loving the series as well as a lot of other Youtubers and bloggers recommending it, including John Green. Obviously with all of those recommendations I couldn’t resist buying the first in the series when I found it on a 3 for £5 deal at The Works but until now it has just been sat on my shelf unread. I think part of the reason was that there is obviously a lot of hype surrounding the series and I didn’t want to be disappointed but also I own the first, third and the companion but not the second and since I’m on a book buying ban (which never works out well but I’m trying!) I haven’t had a chance to buy the second until now. I received a giftcard to a book shop for Christmas and wanted to read this first book in the series to determine whether I wanted to buy the second.

Anyway, on to the review!

Unlike most bloggers and Booktubers I haven’t read that many dystopian Young Adult books (pretty much only the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness and the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins) so I was interested to see whether this genre was something I wanted to read more of.

The writing style immediately drew me into the story but I think that the first chapter was a little slow considering that is the reader’s first impression of the book. Despite this I think you learn a lot about the structure of this society within these first few pages that becomes more relevant as the story progresses and as you get to learn more about Tally, the Uglies and the Pretties.  The concept of this book is unique and really made me think about the world a lot whilst reading. What if, in the future, everyone was given surgery to look the same? It’s an odd but believable conclusion for humans in a way and that’s what makes this book so interesting. The tension builds from the beginning as you know that something will go wrong for the main character but you can’t help but feel sorry for her and her upbringing, despite her being annoying at times.

One problem that I had with this book is that Tally was a little bit stupid at points and I just wanted to scream at her because some things she was having problems with were so obvious to me as the reader and yet she spent ages working them out. Although it was a little irritating I also understood why she was this way and it left a lot of room  for her character to develop over the rest of the series.

The main thing that I loved about Uglies was the social commentary on our society as it is today. The “Rusties” are what the people in this dystopian world call us and a lot of the things that we do are completely misunderstood or unfathomable to this future society and it really makes you think about the world as it is today.

This reminded me a lot of the Chaos Walking trilogy, which is one of my favourite series, and it kept me hooked throughout. This was a little slower than I expected but I am still really looking forward to getting my hands on the next book in the series, Pretties, and I would thoroughly recommend this one.

One comment

Leave a Reply

