The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

This book is on my reading list for next semester and even though it’s tenth on the list, I thought I’d pick it up as it is probably the least daunting one on there. I found this beautiful leather effect edition (the image really doesn’t do it justice) at the book stall in the local indoor market for just 99p in perfect condition and I would say that if you’re ever looking for books for university, definitely check out local independent used book shops, charity shops or a local market as they usually have a great selection for very affordable prices which helps, especially as you’ll probably have to write annotations and notes in it – you don’t want to be writing on a really expensive copy.

‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ is book #4 in the Hercule Poirot detective series and this is my first experience of an Agatha Christie novel. I went into knowing nothing at all which I think is probably best with detective novels and mysteries so everything about this book was entirely new to me.

This book is quite slow-paced but for good reason I think. Each page is dense with information and gives a lot of information about each of the characters and the circumstances surrounding the mystery, meaning that the reader can really get drawn into the story and they can  form their own ideas and suspicions regarding it. Although the chapter heading sometimes gave clues to plot points, I found that they also help to build the intrigue. Similarly, the title of the book itself tells you exactly who will be murdered so as you are reading, although you know what to expect, you see all of the events leading up to the murder so you can form your own conclusions in your mind based on all of the facts.

I think the #xmasbooktubethon helped a lot with reading this book but I found myself thinking about the mystery when I was away from the book, wondering what might have happened. I absolutely love the development of all of the characters and like that the mystery was more focussed on conversations and whisperings between characters rather than in-depth descriptions of gory details, as it sometimes is in detective novels.

I found the ending quite confusing but analysing it will definitely be fun in university! I’ll definitely be looking into reading more of Agatha Christie’s works in the future after absolutely loving this book.

One comment

Leave a Reply

