2014 Series Reading Challenge!

So Octavia over at Read.Sleep.Repeat. has started her own 2014 reading challenge and I heard about it on ChapterBreak.net so definitely check those blogs out!

The rules are as follows:

  • You have to FINISH the series
  • If the series isn’t complete yet, or will not be completed before December 1st, 2014 read up to the most recent book in said series.
  • Novellas count, but are optional.
  • HAVE fun
  • If you decide to break up with a series after book one, it does not count!
  • You do not have to START the series in 2014, you just have to FINISH it in 2014
  • Series that you started prior to 2014 are fine as long as you FINISH the series in 2014
  • The series has to have at least 2 books out prior to December 1st, 2014
  • Proof that you finished the book is required. It could be a full review, a mini review, or a rating with a few lines.
  • DNF’s do not count. PERIOD.

There are incentives to achieve goals thanks to Octavia’s generosity and little digital badges to earn! – Bronze Badge = 1-3 series

Silver Badge = 4-6 series

Gold Badge = 7-11 series

Platinum Badge = 12 or more series

There are many series that I would love to read/finish next year in 2014 and although I don’t think I’ll get through all of them, here are some of the ones I am considering below. I’m just going to aim as high as I can with this challenge and hopefully I do well!

  • The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R.Tolkien – I am halfway through the 4th book in the 7 book boxset edition and I wanted to get it finished in 2013 so this challenge should give me a proper incentive to finish it finally
  • Arthur the Legend trilogy by Jack Whyte – I own the trilogy but only received it for my birthday in December so haven’t started it yet
  • His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman – I have owned this trilogy for a while now and keep putting it off. 2014 will be the year!
  • The Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson – I own the first two books in this series and am not sure when the next is out but I’m really excited to read it
  • The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld – I own them but haven’t started them yet
  • The Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz – I have read the first book and own most of them but haven’t gotten around to the rest
  • Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde – I read The Eyre Affair earlier in the year but haven’t read any of the other yet but I own them
  • The HitchHiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – I read the first two books but didn’t really like the third one so ended up putting it down about halfway through but I would like to finish the series at some point
  • The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S.Lewis – This is a series I have never read (but own) that I should
  • The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini – I own the first three books and read the first when I was a lot younger so need to get round to this soon

There are many others but these are the ones that I would like to get around to first! I’m looking forward to the challenge!

2 comments

  1. I decided, yesterday, that I’m going to participate as well. I’m hoping to mix it up a little with different genres and across reading levels to keep up with my monthly genre reading goals. My thought is one series per month. However, I still plan to have fun. I found that last year I was turning my love for reading into a chore, a job, and I didn’t read as much as I would have liked. Time constraints are also an issue. I’ve also set a goal of 50 books this year on Goodreads. Good luck to you!

    • I’ve set my goal to 80 for now. I managed 146 books last year but I started out reading a lot of novellas and short stories so I want to tackle some longer novels and more difficult reads this year! If there are any books you’d like to read with someone else, depending if I already own it, I would be happy to do a buddy read! Sometimes it’s more fun reading something with someone else and being able to talk about it…just let me know =)

Leave a Reply

