Film Review: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

I went to the first showing of ‘The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug’ in my nearest cinema and I have to say, I liked it but I was somewhat on the fence about some parts and find it difficult to form my opinion about the film as a whole. Having only just started the book I cannot compare the two so this will be purely about the film.

I loved the opening and liked that the first person we saw was Peter Jackson himself as a cameo. The effects in this film have improved exponentially compared to the first film and it was never more obvious than it was with the dragon, Smaug.

I won’t say too much about the story line because I have a feeling that it is a lot more different than that of the book but I liked the introduction of the surprising characters in this second instalment to the trilogy. Legolas was a nice addition to the film (though his eyes seemed to be the wrong colour compared to his character in The Lord of the Rings) and I think that the addition of the elves was an interesting touch.

The potential for romance in this film was entirely unexpected and I am interested to see where this aspect of the story is going to go. Tauriel was a good kickass female character and I liked all of the action sequences with her, Legolas and the orcs.

Overall this film introduced a lot of interesting characters and story lines and, although some of the characters including Thorin became quite unlikeable, it is definitely a promising sequel to what was an amazing first film. 4 stars!

Leave a Reply

