Film Review: City of Bones

This is something new that I have wanted to do on my blog for a while but haven’t gotten around to. I live with my fiance who is both a Television Production student and avid film lover so I am subject to films and television programmes on a daily basis, whether I am watching them or whether he is just watching them with me in the room doing other things, but I actually really enjoy watching films sometimes (when I’m in a film-watching mood instead of reading!) and I wanted to share some film reviews with you on my book blog. I will be rating them in the same way I do with books which is the same as the Goodreads rating system. Not all of them will be book-to-movie adaptations but some will be so if you have some suggestions, please let me know in the comments πŸ™‚

This first film review will be of ‘The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones’ which was released in 2013 and is based on the bestselling novel of the same name by Cassandra Clare. I am sure that most people reading this post will have heard of the book and have probably read it, but I decided to watch the film first. Usually I am a believer in the β€œRead It First” mantra but in this case I thought I would experiment, watching the film first to see how it would effect my opinion of the overall story and whether it would make me want to read the books series.

Knowing very little about the plot of this film was a really good way to go into it although I found a lot of similarities between this and other popular Young Adult book-to-movie adaptations. The way Jace plays the piano at one point was very reminiscent of Edward Cullen in the first Twilight film and the idea of the Mortal Instruments struck me as similar to the idea of the Deathly Hallows in Harry Potter. I know that not every book/film can be completely unique but these similarities were glaringly obvious to me, so much so that I could not ignore them.

I liked the fact that there were moments of humour in this film but I found that some of them felt completely out of place, jarring me out of moments of intensity or drama, and similarly the same could be said for the musical choices.

I won’t spoil any of the plot but there was one aspect that made me feel quite odd, which I think is the point, and I think that although some bits were quite predictable that aspect of the film definitely wasn’t and if you’ve read/seen ‘City of Bones’ you will know what I mean.

Overall, this was an enjoyable movie but there were many aspects of it that annoyed me and made it a bit too cheesy for my liking. I will however be reading the book at some point and hopefully I will enjoy that more than the film. I would give this film β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†.

4 comments

  1. Great review! I also experiment sometimes and do the movie adaptations first. I think, based on your review, I will wait until City of Bones is released to DVD and maybe check it out from my library. I would like to read the book, at some point, although I was very disappointed with Clockwork Angel and let it be after 119 pages.

    • I really liked Clockwork Angel in a way but can’t bring myself to read the sequels somehow :/
      I have taken City of Bones out of the library and will probably be reading it soon, if I can get into it, and will write a review on that too πŸ™‚

  2. I think the thing about The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is that they tried too hard to aim at the same audience that the Twilight films were, since a lot of the original plot was left out of the book to make room for the films numerous cliches of the paranormal teen genre. The books are a lot of fun to read though, you should defiantly check them out!

    • I now own the first book so I probably will get to it at some point this year. I think the film has just put me off a bit but the books must be fun reads because so many people have read them!

Leave a Reply

