October Wrap Up!

Devilish by Maureen Johnson

The first read of this month was Devilish by Maureen Johnson and I really enjoyed it! It’s not my favourite of her works but I still found it fast-paced and completely different to the contemporary novels that I’ve read of hers. Check out my full review!

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrauThis is a great book for younger readers, full of adventure and mystery. I would recommend this and I’m interested in watching the film adaptation because I think the imagery would work well in that medium. I wrote a full review so check it out here!

The New World (Chaos Walking #0.5) by Patrick Ness

A great little story to give the rest of the series more context. Having finished the series, I absolutely loved this novella; it gave a lot of useful information about Viola and her journey, and it made parts of the main series more poignant. A must-read for any Chaos Walking fan!

The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid

‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’ is one of those books that I’ve been hearing the name of for a few years now, but never knew what it was about, and to be honest, I wasn’t that interested in reading it. I found it in my university library and am glad I did because I actually really enjoyed it – see my full review for more details!

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

This was an adorable story about Paul, an openly gay teenager, and his life in high school with friends, enemies, love interests, ex-boyfriends and family. It is a great portrayal of realistic characters and a story that shows you to just be yourself. Highly recommended and make sure you check out my full review if you’re interested.

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

This book was a random pick for me and I absolutely loved it. It is almost timeless with it’s fable-like qualities and is a story that could be reread over and over. Check out my review for more of my thoughts.

Kellie’s Diary by Thomas Jenner & Angeline Perkins

This was a great start to the series. It’s a zombie story with a twist; it is narrated by a nine year old girl. I thoroughly enjoyed the story but think that maybe more aspects of it could have been explored, though I must bear in mind that this is the first in a series. Please check out my full review.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

I usually get intimidated by classics but with this one I found it completely addicting, I just couldn’t put it down (though I had to at points because of work) but anyway! I flew through this in about two days and found the world and the message it told highly immersive. Definitely a must read!

Familiar Territory by Barry Durham

If you’re after a thoroughly terrifying and thrilling read about Satanism and Paganism, then please pick this book up. I was so scared at points but this fast-paced (definitely adult!) novel is definitely worth a read. Check out my full review on 6th November!

The Legend of Arthur King by Barry Durham

This was a great little short story retelling the well-known story of Arthur; it was funny, quirky and quick, full of humour and mystery, so different from Barry’s other works.

The Christmas Bake-Off by Abby Clements

 This was a cute short story has a great sense of humour and storyline but I think that the fact it is only 31 pages long means that it is not very developed and should have been a lot longer.

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

This was a fast-paced emotional read that is made up of beautiful pencil-drawn images and a simple writing style, telling two narratives fifty years apart. I flew through this despite it’s 640 pages and absolutely loved it. Check out my review!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

This was an enjoyable read, though there were some things that really annoyed me about it. I did, however, like Neil Gaiman’s writing style and the overall atmosphere in this book so will be checking out some more of his works soon! Full review will be posted 5th November!

Are We There Yet? by David LevithanThis was a heart-warming and realistic novel and even though there was a typical young adult ‘manic-pixie-dream-girl’, the book didn’t suffer and it made the story progress realistically. I would definitely recommend this if you are a fan of travel, YA contemporary or sibling stories. My review is on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

