July Wrap Up!

I Am Legend – Richard Matheson

I finally read ‘I Am Legend’ by Richard Matheson for my book club on Goodreads and thoroughly enjoyed it. It felt like a classic whilst I was reading it and I think that it is a must-read book in this genre.

Click here for my full review!

Attachments – Rainbow Rowell

After ‘I Am Legend’ I really wanted to read something a bit lighter and fun, so I picked up ‘Attachments’ by Rainbow Rowell at the library. I liked this book and it was a really fast read with amazing characters and an interesting plot. Definitely read my full review because it’s hard to explain this book in such a short paragraph!

Click here for the full review!

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K.Rowling

I started this towards the end of June but finished it on 5th July so it counts for July. I really loved this instalment although Harry really annoyed me as he just seemed a bit naive in this one. Other than that I really enjoyed this and despite the length, I felt like I read it really quickly!

The Seeing Stone – Kevin Crossley-Holland

This was a reread for me – I originally read this when I was about twelve, and I picked this up in a library sale and decided to give it another read. I didn’t really like aspects of it although it was enjoyable in parts.

Click here for my full review!

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

The ending of this one was much less annoying than in the first and I think that the world-building was more exciting. I really like the political side of the plot in Catching Fire and think that it makes the whole thing a lot more realistic. Can’t wait for the last book in this trilogy!

Geek Girl – Holly Smale

‘Geek Girl’ is a story of identity mixed with humour and a fun storyline. Aimed at ages 11 and upwards, the writing style is definitely geared towards a younger audience, but at 21, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it to be a light-hearted and enjoyable read.

Click here for my full review!

Going Vintage – Lindsey Leavitt

This story explores themes of identity and relationships, and most importantly technology nowadays. I really like Lindsey Leavitt’s writing style and the lists that are  at the beginning of each chapter. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants a contemporary read!

Click here for my full review!

The Ask and the Answer

This was an amazing sequel following the brilliant ‘The Knife of Never Letting Go’ which I read earlier in the year. The writing was fast-paced and made this a surprisingly quick read. Obviously I won’t say much about this with it being the sequel but I absolutely love the way this series is going.

The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents – Terry Pratchett

Although this is technically one of Pratchett’s children’s novels, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is more simply written than his adult works, but the fairytale retelling of The Pied Piper was really well done and it was a unique take on the traditional story.

Click here for my full review!

Professor Gargoyle – Charles Gilman


This first instalment of this middle grade series was a really amazing start to what I’m sure will be one of my favourite series. Obviously the writing is quite simple but it made for a really fast-paced enjoyable read.

The Slither Sisters – Charles Gilman

This wasn’t quite as interesting as the first book but it was still an exciting fun read. I loved the fantasy aspects and it was a great sequel and addition to the series.

Six Geese A-Laying – Sophie Kinsella

I really wanted to try something by Sophie Kinsella and found this 25 page short story on Amazon for free so thought I’d give it a try. The only experience I have had with this author’s stories is the film version of ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ but as I assume the book is different to the film, I was unfamiliar with her writing style. This story was very short, meaning that there wasn’t much time for character development or plot progression. The plot was a simple take on the classic story of ‘A Christmas Carol’ by Charles Dickens, which is one of my favourite Christmas stories, and I think although the idea was good, it wasn’t executed to meet it’s full potential, however, the writing style was easy and enjoyable, and I think Sophie Kinsella is an author I would like to try again at some point in the future.

An Idiot Abroad – The Travel Diaries of Karl Pilkington

After reading the television show, this book was really good. It’s something that you can read even if you haven’t seen it but I think it helps if you know how Karl Pilkington acts in real life and his mannerisms. I found this really funny and read it within a few hours.

Teacher’s Pest – Charles Gilman

This last book in the series so far was just as good as the other two and I absolutely recommend this series. It’s fun and addictive and I can’t wait for the next sequel!

Click here for my full review of the first three books in the Lovecraft Middleschool series!

Adorkable – Sarra Manning

I listened to this on audiobook to fulfil the BookTubeAThon challenge of listening to an audiobook. I liked the story but found some of it really annoying. The way the two characters talked about each other was really harsh in some parts but I found that the two narrator’s really helped to keep me interested in the story and overall it was a good funny contemporary read.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – J.K.Rowling

I had never read this instalment of the series and am so glad I have now read it! I absolutely loved where the story went and how things from the previous books are clarified. I can’t wait to read the last book in the series.

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

This is now one of my new favourite contemporary reads. The intelligent, philosophical writing style paired with relatable characters and references to other literature, made this a fun and compelling read.

 

Click here for my full review!

Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

Although this book was a lot slower than the first two, I found the ending quite satisfactory, though not what I was expecting.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

