Bout of Books Readathon Plans!

As I have been going through a bit of a reading slump, I have decided, somehow, that the best thing to do would be to join in on the Bout of Books Readathon. It may be a silly idea but my thoughts are that I may end up getting back into the swing of things if there is the pressure of having to read for the Readathon. Hopefully it all works out!

I am planning to finish off the 4 books that I am currently reading plus maybe another one or two.

As of posting this, I am 54% through reading The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde. As I am starting a new university course in September doing English Literature, I felt it was about time that I try to read more classics, to get myself into the mood to study some of these texts. Apart from Shakespeare, I have never really read any plays so I thought this would be a great opportunity to start some on Oscar Wilde. I’m really enjoying this so far so hopefully this will be a quick read even though it is an ebook, which usually take me longer to read.

This is a book that I have been reading for over a month now. It is ‘It’s Not Me, It’s You’ by British comedian Jon Richardson. I really like this book so far too, but I have to be in the correct mood to read non-fiction. I will definitely be trying to get this one finished during this Readathon.

I am also just over halfway through the third book in the 7 book version of Lord of the Rings by J.R.R.Tolkien. This one is called The Treason of Isengard and is the first half of the Two Towers. Again, I have been reading this one for a while now and would love to get it finished over the next week.

I have also started reading the second instalment in the Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams. This one is The Restaurant at the End of the Universe. I really enjoyed the first book and hope that I carry on enjoying the rest of the series. This is one of my favourite films so I really want to get through the whole 5 part series at some point.

 

If I get through all of this I will just pick something else that I am in the mood for, I’m not sure what that will be yet.

 

Leave a comment