April To Be Read! (TBR)

I don’t usually plan out what I am going to read in a month, but in order to keep up with the amount of reading I have been doing lately, I’ve decided to give myself a small reading aim for this month, and if I finish all these I will be reading other things too. I will also try to write reviews for as many of these as possible, so if there are any that you are more interested in than others, please let me know in the comments 🙂

The first book on my list was going to be ‘Capable of Murder’ by Brian Kavanagh, but I managed to finish this today! I will be writing a full review on this one as I received it for review from the author, though I will say now that I really enjoyed it and it was beautifully written.

“An old lady’s decaying body is found lying at the bottom of the stairs. The police believe it was simply an accidental fall that killed great-aunt Jane. But was it? When the young Australian Belinda Lawrence inherits her great-aunt’s ancient cottage and garden on the outskirts of Bath she is convinced it was murder.”

I will be sure to get a review up for this at some point over the next few days so watch out for that!

 

I am also planning to read ‘Holes’ by Louis Sachar and am currently most of the way through this one. On a roll already it seems! This is one of those books that everyone aroud me seemed to have read when I was a lot younger, but having never read it myself, I borrowed this copy the other day. I have seen the movie but am trying to read the books to films I have seen in the past, so this was an easy book to pick up.

“Camp Greenlake is a place for bad boys, where the belief is: “if you take a bad boy and make him dig a hole every day in the hot sun, it will turn him into a good boy.” When Stanley Yelnats, accused and found guilty of a crime he did not commit, is sent to Camp Greenlake he really doesn’t think it can be so bad. Stanley and his family try to pretend that he is just going away to camp like the rich kids do, and he promises to write to them every day. But the harsh realities of the camp, and the evil Warden with her lizard-venom impregnated fingernails with her own reasons for making the boys in her charge dig so many holes, sometimes make dying seem like a great idea. When Stanley leaves the camp to go in search of his friend Zero, their journey towards freedom becomes a battle with hunger, thirst and heat in the shadow of Big Thumb–a mountain so entwined in Stanley’s own family history that he knows if they can reach it they will somehow find salvation.”

 

Today I picked up ‘Larklight’ by Philip Reeve  in the local phonebox library. It sounds weird, but seriously, near where I am at the moment there is a disused phonebox that has been set up as a small library. It is more like a swapping service – you take books and in exchange can pick up books for yourself! I picked this one up mostly because of the cover and am planning to return this one to the box so have to read it before Saturday when I go back to university. I’m really looking forward to this one and the illustrations really draw me in to this book.

“Arthur (Art) Mumby and his irritating sister Myrtle live with their father Revd Marmaduke Mumby in the huge and rambling house, Larklight, travelling through space on a remote orbit far beyond the moon. One ordinary sort of morning they receive a correspondence informing them that a gentleman is on his way to visit, a Mr Webster. Visitors to Larklight are rare if not unique, and a frenzy of preparation ensues. But it is the wrong sort of preparation, as they discover when their guest arrives, and a Dreadful and Terrifying (and marvellous) adventure begins. It takes them to the furthest reaches of known space, where they must battle the evil First Ones in a desperate attempt to save each other—and the universe.”

 

Another book that I picked up in the phonebox library was ‘The Scorpio Races’ by Maggie Steifvater. I have always avoided buying this book because of all the hype that surrounds it. Hyped books don’t tend to be my cup of tea and when I found this I was a bit hesitant, but I thought I should give it a go as many of the reviewers that I read reviews from love this book. Plus, who could resist that cover?! Not me!

“Every year, the Scorpio Races are run on the beaches of Skarmouth. Every year, the sea washes blood from the sand. To race the savage water horses can mean death, but the danger is irresistible.”

 

Apart from these books, I would also like to read the next instalment in the Lord of the Rings series, which will be book 3, ‘The Treason of Isengard’ by J.R.R. Tolkien.

The Hobbit may also be one that I tackle this month, and also some books that I have received for review, but those will be a surprise as I will do a review on each of them!

So that’s my reading plans for this month, please make sure you leave a comment asking for a review of any of the ones you are interested in

Happy reading!

One comment

Leave a Reply

