Book Haul #1

I have seen Youtubers do book hauls and, honestly, those are my favourite videos, and I love it when people do book hauls on their blogs. I just like seeing what other people are collecting and what kind of prices people find books for so I thought I’d give it a try.  The first book I purchased was ‘Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief’ by Rick Riordan. This is a book that I’ve been looking for for a while now but have never found at a decent price. I found this one in an Age UK charity shop for 29p! Definitely couldn’t leave that on the shelf right?! “I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. That’s when things really started going wrong. Now I spend my time fighting with swords, battling monsters with my friends and generally trying to stay alive.” I ended up with the movie cover (which I can’t really complain about) and I’m really looking forward to starting this series. I’ve heard great things and am looking forward to reading this children’s series.

 

I also found ‘Mrs Dalloway’ by Virginia Woolf for 39p. I am trying to read more classics this year and, again, when I found this, I couldn’t pass it up. This was one of the books that people read in my year in school but my class didn’t get a chance so hopefully this will be something that I enjoy. “London, at the end of the First World War, basks in the summer heat, and Clarissa – Mrs Dalloway – prepares for one of her charming evening parties. Yet as the evening approaches, the unexpected arrival from India of her first lover Peter Walsh, triggers vivid memories of the past until, piece by piece, Clarissa brings to the surface the story of her life, of childhood dreams, and the row so many years ago that precipitated her uneventful marriage.”

 

I think that most people who have been keeping up with book trends will have heard of this novel, ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak. I found this one in another charity shop and was really excited to pick it up. This is definitely one that I will be reading soon. “Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger’s life is changed when, by her brother’s graveside, she picks up an object, partially hidden in the snow. It is the Gravedigger’s Handbok, left there by accident, and it is her first act of book thievery. So begins a love affair with books and words, as Leisel, with the help of her foster father, learns to read. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever there are books to be found. But these are dangerous times. When Leisel’s foster family hides a Jew in their basement, Leisel’s world is both opened up, and closed down.” This is written from the perspective of death and recently I have become really interested in reading more books from strange perspectives.

 

I was inspired to pick up ‘The Book of Lost Things’ by John Connolly from the library after Book Rat Misty mentioned it in her fairy tale inspired video on Youtube. I have to say, I love the cover! The premise also sounds really interesting and I am looking forward to reading this one too. “High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.”

 

The last book that I bought today was another good bargain. I know it’s the fourth in the series but it’s something that has been recommended strongly by a friend and I am looking forward to finding the first. The book is ‘The Shadow Rising’ by Robert Jordan which is part of the Wheel of Time series.

Leave a Reply

